A Childhood Lost.

Did it fly away with the paper planes we flew?
Or did it vanish with the winds that blew?

Or flown away with the paper boats we made?
Never found, once it hid itself, while the games we played.
Maybe the much of running, had it jade.

Did I forget them in the park nearby?
Or did I fell them with tears in my cry?
Possibly somewhere it faded in the limitless sky.

Lost like that wrapper of the candy.
Washed like those castles, sandy.

Childhood, its presence was in the poems I did recite.
Battles with the soft-toys, unconquered my might.
It was an epic tale of an ever-soaring kite
Wish I had held my childhood tight…
Wish I had held my childhood tight.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And this following poem is my second most favorite on childhood… 😀

When did my childhood go?
Was it the day I ceased to be eleven,
Was it the time I realised that Hell and Heaven,
Could not be found in Geography,
And therefore could not be,
Was that the day!

When did my childhood go?
Was it the time I realised that adults were not
all they seemed to be,
They talked of love and preached of love,
But did not act so lovingly,
Was that the day!

When did my childhood go?
Was it when I found my mind was really mine,
To use whichever way I choose,
Producing thoughts that were not those of other people,
But my own, and my alone,
Was that the day!

Where did my childhood go?
It went to some forgotten place,
That’s hidden in an infant’s face,
That’s all I know.

-Markus Natten

About Chetan

A twenty year old infant who fears if crows may shit on him or if Bengali aunties' umbrellas may prick him in the eye. He is currently waiting for Mamata Banerjee to leave Kolkata.

Posted on September 19, 2012, in February Compositions., Septemblog. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Beautiful words!
    The age most cherished once over, childhood is out heaven on Earth!

    Like

Leave a Reply

