Heart vs Brain – A tough battle

A fine morning. Computer in front. Facebook on. A girl online. Shall I send a chat message? No, last time I sent I never got a reply. I felt ashamed. I shall hold back. But.. I want to send a chat message. No. Yes. No.. Start typing, Backspace again. Urghh, What shall I do? My mind says to stop because i’ll end up only getting hurt again… but my heart says to continue because i will never know. Which should i listen to? Its a situation where you are the rope which is being pulled by emotions at one end and logic at the other.

Heart: Press enter. Its now or never.

Brain: Press backspace. Close the window.


Heart: You’re sending it for sure.

Brain: Remove this. Are you foolish.

Heart: You will lose her.

I dont know whether the girl replied or not. There were no sent messages when I logged in the morning. The dream had ended. A certain curiosity tickled in me if whether she had replied and what conversation did we have. I wished to go back to bed again to get back to the dream. The dream never came back. Alas! The next night I heard the last conversation the they had.

Brain: Uff. That was close. Saved!

Heart: We were inches away from heaven.

Just before getting up the heart whispers in my ears, “Next time you know what to do!”  which left me smiling on my bed and with no excuse to give to my mom when she asked for the reason I was smiling.

Its this brain vs heart thing which creates the most dilemmas in life or all the dilemmas in life. They have two different tracks and that too parallel.  Both are right in their arguments because a fight always takes place between two rights. And as Einstein once said, “If your head tells you one thing, and your heart tells you another, before you do anything decide first whether you have a better head or a better heart” And truly so you need to choose a side. Otherwise if you constantly pit your heart against your brain, it’s no surprise if you end up stuck in your head and disconnected from your heart. We say this situation in Hindi as “Dhobi ka gadha, na ghar ka na ghat ka”

 

Topic by Lalit Mundhra, a facebook acquaintance. 🙂  

About Chetan

A twenty year old infant who fears if crows may shit on him or if Bengali aunties' umbrellas may prick him in the eye. He is currently waiting for Mamata Banerjee to leave Kolkata.

Posted on April 6, 2012, in Afford a Smile, April Harvest, Specials, Topic Please and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. ‘If wishes wre horses,begars wud ride.’
    Queen of hrt has alwayz had d golden path bt we as humans serve d brain down here on earth!!
    plz make d world a heaven fr us!! 😛

    Like

  2. Who was the girl? 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

